Archive for November 6, 2007

Have you ever found yourself in the middle of the night in that suspended state of conscienceness where you’re asleep, yet awake?  It’s the place where you’re not sure if you were dreaming or if what just scared the living mess out of you was real. 

I found myself in that place in the early a.m. two nights ago, and to be honest, it freaked me out.  I was laying in bed, and I could see the faint glow from the parking lot utility light coming into the room.  Suddenly, something jumped onto the bed and onto me, and it started walking on top of the covers.  I couldn’t see what it was but I guessed it may be a cat because of the lightness of the steps on me.  It proceeded to walk across the covers onto Christy.  I still couldn’t see it!  This freaked me out somewhat but it either stopped or I went back to sleep. 

Just a few moments later, the same exact thing happened.  Something jumped on the bed onto me and started walking across me and then onto Christy.  I still couldn’t see whatever it was.  Now, I was really freaked out. Why?  Because I don’t have a cat, dog, hamster, parakeet or any other pet.  Adding to that sensation was the sensation that I really had to pee.  Normally this isn’t an issue but I was so scared I couldn’t move.  My mind was still trying to process everything, and figure out what was going on.  Was I awake and acutely aware of what was going on or was I asleep and dreaming when this little creature jumped onto me?  So I just lay their motionless, not daring to move or wake Christy up. 

After a few minutes, I came to the conclusion (other than I really, really had to pee) that I had just been visited by one of Satan’s little friends.  Now, I know some of you are questioning this line of reasoning, and may even be thinking I am completely crazy, and some are thinking, “Satan doesn’t even exist. He’s a fairy-tale creature.”  Some of you thinking this will even call yourself a “Christian.”

Anyway, I began to rebuke Satan in the name of Jesus Christ, and asked that Jesus take authority over Satan and his dominions because they were not welcome in my home.  In my home we worship Jesus Christ, plain and simple.  There is no room for Satan in my home.  I prayed this for a few moments, and suddenly the fear left me.  I knew I was safe, and Christ had exercised His power over evil.  I got up and went to the restroom to pee for about… oh, 10 minutes.  I finished and went back to bed and went to sleep….sound asleep until that blasted alarm went off.

What’s the point to this?  Simple, Satan is real and he will take any opportunity to “mess” with God’s children, especially those Christians that God is really using to reach lost souls.  This irritates satan to no end.  There are many ways that he will try to do this but his ultimate goal is the  frighten us and distract us from doing God’s work.  Whether you believe this or not is irrelevant.  The Truth is the truth whether you believe it or not.  Satan is real and we are squarely in the middle of a spiritual war that is taking place for the lost souls of this world.  You can stick your head in the sand, and pretend but if you do that then the enemy will take you by the neck and rip you apart. 

It’s time Christians wake up and realize that we are either warriors for Christ, or we are warriors for Satan.  There is no middleground in this battle. 

