Archive for November 12, 2007

Perception:

I find Christians particularly offensive. Everyone is going to burn in Hell except them. They have no respect for any other religion. In fact, most Christians hate most other Christians. . . It’s a very dishonest religion and has a holier than thou culture where they believe they are better than everyone else. They like to pose as persecuted, but more often than not they are the persecutors. They tend to lie and steal a lot because they are “forgiven” and therefore can indulge in sin. The religion is theoretically based on the Bible which is, quite frankly, a stupid book, and certainly not written by a God. But Christians hardly follow their own teachings and are more likely to cheat and steal than your average person off the street. . . If Jesus could see what Christianity has evolved into, he’d be spinning in his grave!

—Taken from Church of Reality.org

 

The Reality:

Christians
by Maya  Angelou

“A woman’s  heart should be so hidden in Christ
that a man  should have to seek Him first to find her.” 

When I say…  “I am a Christian” I’m not shouting “I’m clean living'”
I’m whispering “I was lost,  Now I’m found and forgiven.”

When I say…  “I am a Christian” I don’t speak of this with pride.
I’m confessing that I  stumble and need Christ to be my guide. 

When I say…  “I am a Christian” I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m  weak and need His strength to carry on.

When I say…  “I am a Christian” I’m not bragging of success.
I’m admitting I have failed  and need God to clean my mess. 

When I say…  “I am a Christian” I’m not claiming to be perfect,
My  flaws are far too visible but, God believes I am worth it. 

When I say…  “I am a Christian” I still feel the sting of pain..
I have my share of  heartaches, so I call upon His name. 

When I say…  “I am a Christian” I’m not holier than thou,
I’m just a  simple sinner Who received God’s good grace, somehow!

Unfortunately, too many people allow their perceptions of Christianity to turn into their reality, and when that happens we push them further from Jesus Christ, and the precious Gift that He has to offer a lost and broken world.

How are you being perceived by the lost souls that you pass by on a daily basis?  If their ONLY exposure to the Truth of Jesus Christ was through you, would they embrace salvation or would they seek another “truth”? 

 

