Archive for August 11, 2007

W.I.G.

Posted: August 11, 2007 in Christianity

I work for the state of Georgia, and I sat in on an audio conference call that the DHR Commissioner was giving to state employees.  These are quarterly I believe. Each one brings a new theme and revelation of what the focus of the agency should be.  It has gone from, “The Right Work The Right Way” ( I guess we were doing the wrong work the right way), to “Strengthing Georgia’s Families” to “Customer Service”. 

The latest is focusing on the W.I.G, or the Wildly Important Goal.  The upper state leaders had recently attended a Steven Covey Leadership Workshop and this was his message.  I’m assuming he has copyrighted this ingenious theme.

She proceeded to talk about greatness, and the importance of knowing what the “Wildly Important Goal” is instead of “just” the goals.  Each site participating either by video or audio was encouraged to submit questions. My question was, “How can we achieve greatness in a state-run system that is centered on mediocrity?”  We are under-paid, under-staffed and over-worked.  Anyone who works for most states understand (I didn’t actually submit my question b/c it would have set off a minor crisis.)

But it did make me start thinking about life’s W.I.G..  What is life’s W.I.G. then?

For individuals who have not accepted the gift of salvation that was given to us by the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, I’m sure it’s something.  But for Christians, as we are called, it’s obvious, isn’t it?  It’s to build the kingdom of God and bring lost souls to Christ.  It’s that simple!  No thought or energy involved in figuring it out.  You can just refer to it as “The Great Commission”!

Are we great at meeting this goal as Christians? Sometimes yes!  Many times no!  But the promising part of this is that the “system” is already set up for greatness.  The instructions and guidance is clear, and the policy manual has been written and is mediocrity proof.  It’s called The Bible, the Living Word and the foundation that we can build greatness upon.

So anything less than greatness will not suffice.  Will it be easy?  No way b/c I, we are but simple minded, selfish humans full of sin.  We can’t help it. 

The sooner I “buy” into this system and get busy reading, learning and acting, the better. 

Who wants to be great for God with me?  Let’s do it.

P.

P.S. Updates are welcome by all.