Archive for August 16, 2007

Every Christian knows that prayer is essential in developing a close intimate relationship with God that will allow you to grow spiritually.  Although I don’t set aside “designated” time daily to sit and pray (I’ve got to grow stronger in this area), I tend to pray a lot throughout the day.  I try to have an ongoing conversation with God, with Jesus. 

I believe in prayer and I KNOW that it works and that God ALWAYS hears His children’s prayers.  Praying alone is important to your growth but I also strongly believe, and encourage, all Christians to find a mature, Christ-centered PRAYER PARTNER!  It doesn’t matter if they are older, younger, a new Christian or a Christian of 50 years.  It just needs to be someone that is serious about growing spiritually and is sincerely interested in interceding to God on your behalf.

My prayer partner is Tom!  He’s an older (I didn’t say old Tom!) Christian who has a great love for God, His son Jesus Christ and for lost souls.  He came to Calvary from Dr. Charles Stanley’s church in Atlanta over 2 years ago.  He has a wonderful, Godly wife named Phyllis.  He is a retired Engineer (yes, he’s a little strange…just kidding again Tom) but he is a great friend to me and truly cares about my spiritual growth.

We try to pray together at least once a week and it is comforting to know that He (and Phyllis) will always sincerely pray for me, Christy and our concerns, requests, etc.  While I was in Brazil, I knew that I had Tom praying diligently for me daily and it gave me peace to know that he had my “back” while I was doing God’s work there.  We don’t alway agree on every point or issue but I do know that our core beliefs in God are the same.

So I want to “Thank you Tom” for having my spiritual “back” in this world and I would like to encouage every Christian to find a sincere, God-seeking prayer partner.  It will bless you in so many ways, and make God “happy” in return b/c He loves when “two or more are gathered in my name.” 

Just a win-win situation!

P.