Archive for August 19, 2007

One of the greatest blessings in my life are my mom and dad.  God has blessed me with two very loving and supportive parents that have grown into dear friends to Christy and me.  We don’t get to see them much so the time we get to spend together is special, although it is never enough.

They came down on Saturday afternoon for a few days, and we haven’t done much but sit around the apartment and eat.  Eating is always a central activity when we are together.  Tonight was our traditional visit to Tubby’s Tankhouse in Thunderbolt.  It’s our favorite place to eat and being able to eat the best fish in Savannah while spending time with mom and dad is, well…priceless. 

What do we talk about?  A lot but yet nothing at all.  We just talk, and laugh (mostly at mom) and eat.  But that’s why it’s special because it’s simple and just about the time we get together.

The older I get the more I realize what a gift it is too have my parents still in my life.  There are many that would give anything to have just one more night of doing nothing but spending time with their mom and dad.  I can’t worry about the time we don’t get together.  I just want to focus on the time that we do get together.  Yes, I wish that they lived here in Savannah with us, and that we weren’t two states away but I also know that the years we’ve spent apart is a main reason I appreciate this gift so much.

So until that day comes when we can be together more, I am just going to sit here and be thankful for whatever time we have together.

P.