Archive for August 26, 2007

Sacrifices

Posted: August 26, 2007 in Blogging, Christianity, Life

After a busy day, I’m finally settled into my temporary home here at the Wingate Inn in Macon. I’m here until Friday for CPS KEYS training.  It’s the first of three weeks that I’ll be here in Macon, therefore, not in Savannah with Christy.  Although I must admit it’s going to be nice to not be at the office this week, I am never excited about having to spend a week without her.  I married her with the understanding that I wanted to be with her on a daily basis, not spending weeks away from her at the Wingate Inn in Macon. 

Is it the first time we’ve spent a week a part?  Unfortunately, it isn’t.  We’ve actually spent many weeks a part because of our careers.  Although it has gotten “easier” it is still frustrating because I know it is time that I will never get back.  It’s a week without seeing her, hugging her, kissing her, sleeping with her…just being with her. 

Nonetheless, at this moment in our lives it’s what has to be done.  We, like most, have to work and therefore, it’s just another sacrifice that survival requires.  It’s just another sacrifice that has been added to the “Life Isn’t Fair” list that we all mentally and emotionally keep.  The list seems to just get longer.

But instead of focusing on the sacrifice and getting more and more irritated, I will focus on the fact that I have a job.  There are many people in this world that would gladly walk in my shoes this week.  So, I think I’ll just change into something comfy, pull the covers back and watch a little TV until my baby calls, and we “tuck” each other in via the phone.

P.